Prop 65 warning type size
The 6-point Prop 65 type-size sentence is the short-form rule on the product label
Direct answer. The 6-point type-size rule for a Prop 65 short-form warning on the product label is in 27 CCR § 25602(a)(4). OEHHA’s final regulatory text for that method states: “The entire warning must be in a type size no smaller than the largest type size used for other consumer information on the product. In no case shall the warning appear in a type size smaller than 6-point type.” Section 25601(c) in that same text is the prominent-display rule. Sections 25602(b) and 25602(c) are the internet and catalog methods: an internet warning is provided by a warning on the product display page, a clearly marked hyperlink using the word “WARNING” or the words “CA WARNING” or “CALIFORNIA WARNING”, or an otherwise prominently displayed warning provided to the purchaser prior to completing the purchase. Confirm the codified sections if the approval PDF and the live Code of Regulations differ. This page is not legal advice.
Prop 65 Warning Manager (Shopify App Store · Write a review) displays California Prop 65 warnings on product pages and keeps an audit trail of warning edits, assignments, and storefront activation events. The listing says every warning needs merchant approval before it goes live. The app does not set a print type size, and it does not decide whether a warning is required. Short-form wording is the short-form warning, not this page.
Related: CLPLens — Hazard pictograms on the product page, not only the parcel.
Free check first: Prop 65 warning question check runs in your browser and sends nothing. Describe a product and see which list names and 27 CCR warning rules to read.
Checklist before you treat a point size as required
- Read OEHHA’s final regulatory text and the adoption notice, then the live 27 CCR if either has moved.
- Use the 6-point sentence only where § 25602(a)(4) places it: a short-form warning on the product label.
- For a label method that is not that short-form method, do not copy the 6-point sentence across. See OEHHA.
- For an internet or catalog warning, read § 25602(b) and (c). Those subsections do not state a point size.
- The warning sentence itself, including the chemical name, is the short-form guide and the warning examples. This page does not repeat it.
On the product: conspicuousness, then the short-form point size
Section 25601(c) of the final regulatory text requires consumer product exposure warnings to be prominently displayed on a label, labeling, or sign, and displayed with such conspicuousness, as compared with other words, statements, designs, or devices, as to render the warning likely to be seen, read, and understood by an ordinary individual under customary conditions of purchase or use. That subsection does not state “6-point” or any other point size.
The point-size sentences sit in § 25602(a)(4), the short-form warning on the label. That method also says the warning is provided on a product in a type size that complies with § 25601(c), and then states the two sentences quoted above. Section 25602(a)(3), a warning on the label that complies with § 25603(a), does not repeat those point-size sentences. If you need a point size for a long-form label and the section in front of you does not state one, see OEHHA.
Section 25603(a)(1) sizes the warning symbol, not the paragraph: the symbol shall be placed to the left of the text of the warning, in a size no smaller than the height of the word “WARNING”. That is a symbol-height rule. It is not a second point size for the warning text.
Internet and catalog: before purchase, with no extra point size in these subsections
Section 25602(b) is the internet method. As the final text sets it out, the warning uses one or more of these methods: a warning on the product display page; a clearly marked hyperlink using the word “WARNING” or the words “CA WARNING” or “CALIFORNIA WARNING” on the product display page; or an otherwise prominently displayed warning provided to the purchaser prior to completing the purchase. The same subsection says a warning is not prominently displayed if the purchaser must search for it in the general content of the website. If the label uses short-form content under § 25602(a)(4), the website may use that same content. None of those internet sentences states a point size.
Section 25602(c) says that for catalog purchases, a warning that complies with the content requirements of § 25603 must also be provided in the catalog in a manner that clearly associates it with the item being purchased. If a short-form warning is on the label under § 25602(a)(4), the catalog may use the same content. That subsection does not state a point size either. A product-page warning on Shopify is walked on 2028 product-page warnings. The safe-harbor method list is Prop 65 warning examples.
What this page is not
- Not legal advice, a determination that a warning is required, or a print specification for a particular SKU.
- Not a substitute for the live 27 CCR text or the OEHHA notice.
- Not the short-form sentence. That URL is Prop 65 short-form warning.
- Not the full method list. That URL is Prop 65 warning examples.
Related pages
- Prop 65 warning question check — which list names and 27 CCR rules to read
- Prop 65 short-form warning — content and when § 25602 lets a label use it
- Prop 65 warning examples — safe-harbor methods and content
- Prop 65 warning on the product page
- OEHHA final regulatory text (PDF)
- OEHHA adoption notice
- P65Warnings.ca.gov
- Prop 65 Warning Manager — live App Store listing
- Shopify apps hub
- Tools
Not legal advice. Confirm 27 CCR §§ 25601, 25602, and 25603, and the OEHHA final regulatory text, before you treat a point size as required on a label, a product page, or a catalog. The app displays warning content you approve. It does not set type size.